All Rick Riordan Books In Order

All Rick Riordan Books In Order: A Guide to the Exciting Mythology Series

Rick Riordan is a renowned author known for his captivating mythology-based series. His books are loved by readers of all ages, transporting them into fascinating worlds filled with gods, monsters, and epic adventures. With numerous series under his belt, it can be overwhelming to know where to start or how they all fit together. In this article, we will provide a comprehensive guide to all of Rick Riordan’s books in order, along with five unique facts about the author and his works.

1. Percy Jackson & The Olympians Series
– The Lightning Thief
– The Sea of Monsters
– The Titan’s Curse
– The Battle of the Labyrinth
– The Last Olympian

This series introduces us to Percy Jackson, a demigod who discovers his true identity as the son of Poseidon. With his newfound powers, Percy embarks on quests to prevent a war among the gods and save the world from destruction.

2. The Heroes of Olympus Series
– The Lost Hero
– The Son of Neptune
– The Mark of Athena
– The House of Hades
– The Blood of Olympus

Continuing the story from the Percy Jackson series, this series follows a new group of demigods as they set out on a quest to prevent the awakening of the earth goddess Gaea. The series introduces new characters while also featuring beloved characters from the previous series.

3. The Kane Chronicles Series
– The Red Pyramid
– The Throne of Fire
– The Serpent’s Shadow

In this series, Riordan delves into Egyptian mythology, following the adventures of Carter and Sadie Kane as they uncover their family’s connection to the Egyptian gods. The siblings must battle ancient forces to prevent chaos from engulfing the world.

4. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Series
– The Sword of Summer
– The Hammer of Thor
– The Ship of the Dead

Based on Norse mythology, this series follows Magnus Chase, a teenager who discovers he is the son of a Norse god. Magnus embarks on a mission to prevent the apocalypse, Ragnarok, and save the Nine Worlds from destruction.

5. The Trials of Apollo Series
– The Hidden Oracle
– The Dark Prophecy
– The Burning Maze
– The Tyrant’s Tomb
– The Tower of Nero

In this series, Apollo, the Greek god of the sun, is stripped of his godly powers and sent to earth as a mortal teenager. He must complete a series of dangerous trials to regain his place on Mount Olympus.

Unique Facts about Rick Riordan and his Works:

1. Riordan started writing the Percy Jackson series as bedtime stories for his son, who had been diagnosed with ADHD and dyslexia. The series became a way for his son to see himself in a hero and embrace his differences.

2. The Percy Jackson series was turned into a successful film franchise, with two movies released in 2010 and 2013. However, fans were disappointed with the adaptation, as it deviated significantly from the books.

3. Riordan’s books have been praised for their diverse representation of characters. They feature protagonists from various ethnic backgrounds, including African-American, Hispanic, and Middle Eastern.

4. Rick Riordan’s works not only entertain but also educate readers about different mythologies. His books are known for their accurate portrayal of mythological figures and their stories, making learning about ancient civilizations fun and accessible.

5. Riordan has established the “Rick Riordan Presents” imprint, where he selects authors to write their own series based on different mythologies. This initiative aims to promote diverse voices and expand the world of mythology-based fiction.


1. Do I need to read the Percy Jackson series before starting other series?
While it is not necessary, reading the Percy Jackson series first will provide a better understanding of the overarching mythology and references in the subsequent series.

2. Are all of Rick Riordan’s series connected?
Yes, all of Riordan’s series are set in the same universe and have interconnected storylines and characters.

3. Can adults enjoy Rick Riordan’s books?
Absolutely! Riordan’s books are loved by readers of all ages, as they combine humor, adventure, and mythology in a way that captivates both young and adult readers.

4. Are Rick Riordan’s books appropriate for younger readers?
Riordan’s books are generally considered suitable for readers aged 8 and above. However, parents should review the content to determine if it aligns with their child’s reading level and maturity.

5. How many books has Rick Riordan written in total?
As of now, Rick Riordan has written over 30 books, including his main series and various companion novels.

6. Will there be more books in the Percy Jackson series?
While Riordan has stated that the main Percy Jackson series is complete, he has continued to release companion novels and spin-offs set in the same universe.

7. Are Rick Riordan’s books only about Greek and Roman mythology?
No, Riordan has expanded his series to include Egyptian, Norse, and even Celtic mythology, providing readers with a diverse range of mythological worlds to explore.

8. Can I read the series out of order?
While each series has its own self-contained story, it is recommended to read them in order to fully appreciate the interconnected plotlines and character development.

9. Will there be more movies based on Rick Riordan’s books?
Rick Riordan has expressed his desire for a faithful adaptation of his books, and there are talks of a new Percy Jackson TV series in the works.

10. Can I read Rick Riordan’s books if I’m not familiar with mythology?
Absolutely! Riordan’s books are written in a way that introduces readers to mythology, providing explanations and context within the story.

11. Are there any plans for a crossover between different mythologies in Riordan’s books?
While there have been no official announcements, Riordan has hinted at the possibility of a crossover between his different mythological series.

12. Are Rick Riordan’s books only for fans of fantasy?
While Riordan’s books fall under the fantasy genre, they also incorporate elements of mystery, humor, and coming-of-age stories, making them enjoyable for readers who may not typically read fantasy.

13. Can I read Rick Riordan’s books as standalone novels?
While some of Riordan’s books can be enjoyed as standalone novels within their respective series, reading them in order will provide a richer and more fulfilling reading experience.

In conclusion, Rick Riordan’s books offer readers an immersive experience into the captivating worlds of mythology. From Percy Jackson to Magnus Chase, Riordan has created a universe that not only entertains but also educates readers about ancient civilizations. With interconnected storylines and diverse characters, his books have become a beloved staple in the fantasy genre. Whether you’re a mythology enthusiast or simply seeking a thrilling adventure, Rick Riordan’s series are sure to captivate your imagination.