Karin Slaughter Will Trent Books In Order

Karin Slaughter Will Trent Books In Order: A Thrilling Journey

Karin Slaughter is a renowned American crime writer whose gripping novels have captured the hearts of millions of readers around the world. Among her most popular works are the Will Trent series, featuring the titular character who is a Georgia Bureau of Investigation (GBI) agent. With complex characters, intricate plots, and a knack for keeping readers on the edge of their seats, Slaughter has established herself as a master of the crime thriller genre. In this article, we will explore the Will Trent books in order and also present you with five unique facts about the series.

1. “Triptych” (2006): This is the first book in the Will Trent series. It introduces readers to Will Trent, a dyslexic and socially awkward GBI agent, who is assigned to investigate a brutal serial killer. As Will delves into the case, he must confront his own troubled past while battling personal and professional demons.

2. “Fractured” (2008): In the second installment, Will Trent finds himself investigating the murder of a young woman whose body is discovered in an abandoned Atlanta warehouse. As he delves deeper into the case, he discovers shocking secrets and faces unexpected dangers.

3. “Undone” (2009): In this gripping novel, Will Trent is called in to investigate a heinous crime at a wealthy Atlanta neighborhood. As he navigates the complex web of lies and deceit, he uncovers a shocking conspiracy that threatens to destroy everything he holds dear.

4. “Broken” (2010): In “Broken,” Will Trent is assigned to a high-profile case involving the brutal murder of a college student. As he races against time to catch the killer, he must also confront painful memories from his past that resurface during the investigation.

5. “Fallen” (2011): When a woman’s body is discovered in an abandoned building, Will Trent is once again thrust into a dark and twisted case. As he digs deeper, he uncovers a trail of corruption and betrayal that reaches the highest levels of power.

6. “Criminal” (2012): In this sixth installment, Will Trent finds himself investigating a murder that reopens wounds from his troubled childhood. As he confronts his own past demons, he must also navigate a dangerous game of cat and mouse with a cunning killer.

7. “Unseen” (2013): When a brutal attack occurs at an Atlanta college campus, Will Trent is called in to investigate. As he digs deeper, he realizes that the case is far more complex than he initially thought, and he must race against time to catch a sadistic predator.

8. “The Kept Woman” (2016): In this thrilling novel, Will Trent investigates the murder of a corrupt ex-cop. As he delves into the case, he uncovers a web of lies, deceit, and betrayal that threatens to tear apart his personal and professional life.

9. “The Last Widow” (2019): When a scientist is abducted, Will Trent and his partner, medical examiner Sara Linton, find themselves embroiled in a dangerous plot involving domestic terrorism. As they race against time to save innocent lives, they must also confront their own relationship struggles.

10. “The Silent Wife” (2020): In the latest installment of the Will Trent series, a brutal murder leads Will Trent and Sara Linton into a terrifying investigation that uncovers long-buried secrets. As they delve deeper into the case, they realize that the truth may be more shocking than they ever imagined.

Unique Facts about the Will Trent Series:

1. Character Development: One of the standout features of the Will Trent series is the deep and intricate character development. Karin Slaughter expertly crafts multi-dimensional characters with complex backstories, allowing readers to form deep connections with them.

2. Intertwined Stories: Although each book in the series can be read as a standalone, there are recurring storylines and character arcs that span multiple novels. This interconnectedness adds depth and richness to the overall reading experience.

3. Realistic and Gritty: Slaughter’s writing style is known for its grittiness and realism. She doesn’t shy away from portraying the dark underbelly of society, making her novels all the more immersive and compelling.

4. Strong Female Characters: Alongside Will Trent, Slaughter introduces several strong and resilient female characters who play prominent roles in the series. These women are not merely damsels in distress but are complex, independent, and capable individuals.

5. Psychological Depth: The Will Trent series delves into the psychological aspects of crime, exploring the motives and inner workings of both the perpetrators and the investigators. This psychological depth adds another layer of intrigue to the already gripping narratives.


1. Do I need to read the Will Trent books in order?
While each book can be enjoyed as a standalone, reading them in order will provide a richer understanding of the characters’ development and the overall story arcs.

2. How many Will Trent books are there?
As of now, there are ten novels in the Will Trent series.

3. Are the Will Trent books connected to Karin Slaughter’s other series?
While the Will Trent series is standalone, it shares some characters with Slaughter’s Grant County series, creating an interconnected universe.

4. Will there be more books in the Will Trent series?
Yes, Karin Slaughter has expressed her intention to continue writing more books featuring Will Trent.

5. Are the Will Trent books suitable for all readers?
The series contains graphic violence and mature themes, so it is recommended for adult readers.

6. Can I start with any Will Trent book?
Although it is possible to start with any book in the series, reading them in order will provide a more comprehensive reading experience.

7. Are the Will Trent books fast-paced?
Yes, the series is known for its fast-paced and gripping narratives that keep readers hooked from start to finish.

8. Are the Will Trent books based on real crimes?
While the books are fictional, Karin Slaughter draws inspiration from real-life crimes and investigative procedures, lending authenticity to her stories.

9. Is there romance in the Will Trent series?
Yes, the series features a romantic subplot between Will Trent and Sara Linton, a medical examiner and his partner.

10. Can I read the Will Trent books as standalone novels?
Yes, each book has its own self-contained story, but reading them in order will provide a more immersive experience.

11. Are the Will Trent books suitable for fans of other crime thriller authors?
Absolutely! If you enjoy authors like Michael Connelly, Tess Gerritsen, or Harlan Coben, you’ll likely find the Will Trent series equally enthralling.

12. Are the Will Trent books primarily character-driven or plot-driven?
The series strikes a balance between character development and intricate plotlines, making it appealing to fans of both character-driven and plot-driven novels.

13. Can I expect unexpected plot twists in the Will Trent books?
Yes, Karin Slaughter is known for her ability to surprise readers with unexpected plot twists and turns, keeping them guessing until the very end.

In conclusion, the Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter is a thrilling journey into the world of crime and investigation. With its complex characters, intricate plots, and a touch of psychological depth, these books will captivate fans of the genre. Whether you’re a newcomer or a long-time reader, diving into the Will Trent series promises an unforgettable reading experience.