City Of Bones Books In Order

City of Bones is a popular young adult fantasy series written by Cassandra Clare. The series follows the story of Clary Fray, a young girl who discovers a hidden world of demons, angels, and Shadowhunters in the midst of New York City. With intricate world-building, intriguing characters, and a captivating plot, it’s no wonder that City of Bones has gained a massive following. In this article, we will explore the City of Bones books in order, along with five unique facts about the series.

City of Bones Books in Order:

1. City of Bones (2007): The first book in the series introduces us to Clary Fray, who witnesses a murder in a nightclub and discovers a mysterious world filled with supernatural creatures. She embarks on a journey to unravel the secrets of her past and save her mother from the clutches of evil.

2. City of Ashes (2008): In the second installment, Clary faces new challenges as she delves deeper into the Shadowhunter world. With tensions rising between different factions, she must confront her own hidden powers and navigate love, betrayal, and loyalty.

3. City of Glass (2009): As Clary’s quest continues, she travels to the City of Glass, the hidden Shadowhunter capital. With the fate of her loved ones and the Shadowhunter world at stake, Clary must make difficult choices and face the consequences of her actions.

4. City of Fallen Angels (2011): This book picks up where City of Glass left off, with Clary and her friends trying to rebuild their lives after the war. However, a new threat emerges, endangering everything they hold dear. Secrets are unveiled, and alliances are tested in this thrilling installment.

See also  Jeffrey Hunter as Jesus Christ

5. City of Lost Souls (2012): Clary and her friends face their darkest challenge yet as they fight against the villainous Sebastian Morgenstern. With the Shadowhunters on the brink of destruction, they must summon all their strength and courage to save their world.

6. City of Heavenly Fire (2014): The final book in the original series brings the epic battle between good and evil to its climax. Clary and her friends must unite to defeat Sebastian once and for all, or risk the annihilation of the Shadowhunter world.

Unique Facts about the City of Bones Series:

1. Inspiration from Fan Fiction: Cassandra Clare originally started writing City of Bones as a fan fiction story set in the Harry Potter universe. However, she later modified the story, creating her own world with unique characters and mythology.

2. Spin-Offs and Expansions: The success of the City of Bones series led to several spin-off series, including The Infernal Devices, The Dark Artifices, and The Last Hours. These series explore different time periods and characters within the Shadowhunter world.

3. Movie Adaptation: City of Bones was adapted into a movie in 2013, starring Lily Collins as Clary Fray. Although the film received mixed reviews, it gained a dedicated fan base and further popularized the series.

4. TV Series: In 2016, a television adaptation called “Shadowhunters” premiered on Freeform (formerly ABC Family). The series ran for three seasons and gained a substantial following, though it deviated from the original books in certain aspects.

5. Record-Breaking Sales: The City of Bones series has sold millions of copies worldwide, making it one of the best-selling young adult fantasy series of all time. The books have been translated into multiple languages and have received widespread critical acclaim.

See also  Where Is Metropolis Superman

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

1. Will there be more books in the City of Bones series?
No, the original series has concluded with City of Heavenly Fire. However, there are several spin-off series set within the same world.

2. Should I read the City of Bones series in order?
Yes, it is highly recommended to read the books in order to fully understand the story, character development, and overarching plot.

3. Is City of Bones appropriate for young readers?
The series is generally recommended for readers aged 14 and above due to its mature themes, violence, and some romantic content.

4. Are there any plans for a sequel to the City of Bones movie?
No, there are no current plans for a sequel to the movie adaptation of City of Bones.

5. Which order should I read the spin-off series in?
The recommended reading order for the spin-off series is The Infernal Devices, The Dark Artifices, and The Last Hours.

6. Can I watch the TV series if I haven’t read the books?
Yes, the TV series “Shadowhunters” can be enjoyed by both readers and non-readers of the books, though there may be differences between the two.

7. Are there any graphic novels based on the City of Bones series?
Yes, there are graphic novel adaptations of the original City of Bones series, which offer a visual retelling of the story.

8. Is there a prequel to the City of Bones series?
Yes, there is a prequel trilogy called The Infernal Devices, which is set in Victorian London and provides background on the Shadowhunter world.

See also  The Last Boy Movie Review

9. Can I read the spin-off series without reading the original City of Bones books?
While it is possible to read the spin-off series without reading the original books, it is highly recommended to read the City of Bones series first for a better understanding of the world and its characters.

10. How many books are there in the City of Bones series?
The original series consists of six books, starting with City of Bones and concluding with City of Heavenly Fire.

11. Are there any plans for a City of Bones video game?
As of now, there are no official plans for a video game based on the City of Bones series.

12. Is City of Bones available in audiobook format?
Yes, all the books in the series are available in audiobook format, narrated by various talented voice actors.

13. Will Cassandra Clare write more books in the Shadowhunter world?
Yes, Cassandra Clare has announced plans for future series and standalone novels set in the Shadowhunter world, ensuring fans will have more stories to look forward to.


  • wkadmin

    Laura is a seasoned wordsmith and pop culture connoisseur with a passion for all things literary and cinematic. Her insightful commentary on books, movies, and the glitzy world of film industry celebrities has captivated audiences worldwide. With a knack for blending literary analysis and movie magic, Laura's unique perspective offers a fresh take on the entertainment landscape. Whether delving into the depths of a novel or dissecting the latest blockbuster, her expertise shines through, making her a go-to source for all things book and film-related.