Magic The Gathering Books In Order

Magic: The Gathering Books In Order: A Complete Guide

Magic: The Gathering (MTG) is a highly popular fantasy trading card game that has captured the hearts of millions of fans worldwide. The game, created by mathematician Richard Garfield and published by Wizards of the Coast, has not only spawned a successful card game but also an extensive series of novels that delve into the rich lore and stories of the MTG universe. In this article, we will explore the Magic: The Gathering books in order, along with some unique facts about the series.

Magic: The Gathering Books In Order:

1. Arena – Written by William R. Forstchen, this book introduces the world of MTG and follows the journey of a young wizard named Garth as he battles his way through the magical plane of Dominaria.

2. Whispering Woods – Written by Clayton Emery, this book is set in the Ice Age cycle of MTG and follows the story of Jodah, an apprentice to the powerful wizard Jaya Ballard, as he embarks on a perilous quest.

3. Shattered Chains – Written by Clayton Emery, this book continues the story of Jodah and his companions as they search for a way to defeat the dark wizard Lim-Dul.

4. Final Sacrifice – Written by Clayton Emery, this book concludes the Ice Age cycle and features a final showdown between Jodah and Lim-Dul.

5. The Thran – Written by J. Robert King, this book is a prequel to the Ice Age cycle and explores the origins of the powerful artifacts known as the Thran Stones.

6. The Brother’s War – Written by Jeff Grubb, this book takes readers back to the early days of the MTG universe and follows the conflict between the brothers Urza and Mishra, whose rivalry shapes the future of Dominaria.

7. Planeswalker – Written by Lynn Abbey, this book introduces readers to the planeswalker Xantcha and her journey through the multiverse.

See also  What Are the Narnia Movies in Order

8. Time Streams – Written by J. Robert King, this book continues the story of Urza and follows his journey through time as he seeks to defeat the Phyrexians and save Dominaria.

9. Bloodlines – Written by Loren L. Coleman, this book explores the rise of the vampire planeswalker Sorin Markov and his search for answers about his heritage.

10. Rath and Storm – Written by Peter Archer, this book is set during the Invasion cycle of MTG and follows the story of Gerrard Capashen as he battles against the Phyrexians.

Five Unique Facts about the Magic: The Gathering Books:

1. The MTG books feature a wide range of authors, including renowned fantasy writers such as R.A. Salvatore and Mercedes Lackey, who have contributed their talents to the series.

2. The MTG books are not just adaptations of the card game but rather an expansion of the game’s rich lore and universe. They provide readers with in-depth character development and intricate storylines.

3. The books often explore different planes within the MTG multiverse, allowing readers to experience the diverse landscapes and cultures of these magical realms.

4. The MTG books have their own unique storylines but are also intricately connected to the events and cards of the corresponding card sets. They provide additional context and depth to the game’s narrative.

5. The MTG books have garnered a dedicated fan base who eagerly await each new release. The series has become a beloved part of the MTG experience and has even inspired fan-created content, including online forums, wikis, and artwork.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

1. Do I need to read the MTG books to understand and enjoy the card game?
No, the books are not necessary to enjoy the card game. However, they provide additional context and depth to the MTG universe, enhancing the overall experience for fans.

See also  McFarland USA The Movie Cast Ages

2. Can I read the MTG books in any order?
While each book can be enjoyed as a standalone story, reading them in order will provide a more comprehensive understanding of the MTG universe and its characters.

3. Are the MTG books appropriate for all ages?
The MTG books are generally suitable for young adult and adult readers. Some books may contain mature themes and violence, so it’s advisable to check the content before sharing them with younger readers.

4. Are there any plans for new MTG books in the future?
Wizards of the Coast continues to release new MTG novels periodically. Although there is no fixed publication schedule, fans can look forward to future additions to the series.

5. Can I purchase the MTG books in e-book format?
Yes, most of the MTG books are available in e-book format, allowing readers to enjoy them on various digital platforms.

6. Are the MTG books canon to the game’s storyline?
Yes, the books are considered canon and often provide additional details and insights into the events and characters of the MTG universe.

7. Can I find the MTG books in my local bookstore or library?
Most popular bookstores and libraries carry a selection of MTG books. However, availability may vary depending on your location.

8. Are there any audiobook versions of the MTG books available?
Yes, some of the MTG books have been adapted into audiobook format, allowing fans to listen to the captivating stories while on the go.

9. Are there any graphic novels or comics based on MTG?
Yes, apart from the novel series, there are several graphic novels and comics that explore the MTG universe, providing a visual representation of the stories.

10. Are the MTG books meant to be read by experienced players or new fans as well?
The books cater to both experienced players and new fans. They offer a deeper understanding of the MTG universe for veterans and serve as an excellent entry point for newcomers.

See also  Cast of the Alamo 1960

11. Can I enjoy the MTG books even if I don’t play the card game?
Absolutely! The MTG books are written to be enjoyed by both players and non-players alike. They offer a captivating fantasy experience that can be appreciated independently of the card game.

12. Are there any crossover books featuring characters from other fantasy universes?
While the MTG books primarily focus on the MTG universe, there have been a few crossover novels that feature characters from other fantasy series, such as the Magic: The Gathering – The Darksteel Eye trilogy.

13. Are there any plans for a movie or TV adaptation of the MTG books?
Although there have been discussions about adapting the MTG books into other forms of media, no concrete plans have been announced as of yet. However, the rich storytelling and vast universe of MTG make it a prime candidate for adaptation.

In conclusion, the Magic: The Gathering books offer fans an opportunity to delve deeper into the captivating lore and stories of the MTG universe. Whether you are a long-time player or simply a lover of fantasy literature, these books provide an immersive experience filled with magic, adventure, and unforgettable characters.


  • wkadmin

    Laura is a seasoned wordsmith and pop culture connoisseur with a passion for all things literary and cinematic. Her insightful commentary on books, movies, and the glitzy world of film industry celebrities has captivated audiences worldwide. With a knack for blending literary analysis and movie magic, Laura's unique perspective offers a fresh take on the entertainment landscape. Whether delving into the depths of a novel or dissecting the latest blockbuster, her expertise shines through, making her a go-to source for all things book and film-related.